Champions of the Chesapeake

Chesapeake Conservancy was thrilled to

honor the past and current members of Chesapeake Bay Commission

in coordination with their Winter Meeting as our 6th Annual Champion of the Chesapeake

The 2019 Public Service Award was received by Chesapeake Bay Commission Leadership – Senator Guy Guzzone (MD), Senator Gene Yaw (PA), and Delegate David Bulova (VA).

The 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award was received by Ann P. Swanson, Executive Director

Keynote Address was made by U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen

Presenter Remarks made by U.S. Representative Bobby Scott and

Maryland House of Delegates Speaker Adrienne Jones

The event was held on:

Thursday, November 7, 2019

National Aquarium

501 E. Pratt Street, Baltimore, MD 21202

Gene Yaw, Senate of Pennsylvania (R-23)

Senator Gene Yaw was elected to represent the 23rd Senatorial District in November 2008.  He Chairs the Environmental Resources & Energy Committee and is Vice Chair of the Appropriations Committee.  He is also a member of the Judiciary, Law & Justice; Agriculture & Rural Affairs; and Banking & Insurance Committees.  Yaw served as Lycoming County solicitor for 17 years and as general counsel to the Pennsylvania College of Technology for more than 20 years.  He now serves on its Board of Directors and is Chair of the Center for Rural Pennsylvania.  Yaw is “Of Counsel” with the McCormick Lawn Firm in Williamsport and is a member of the Lycoming Law Association, Pennsylvania Bar Association and Pennsylvania Association for Justice.  A U.S. Army veteran, he earned degrees from Lycoming College and the American University School of Law in Washington, D.C.

David L. Bulova, Virginia House of Delegates (D-37)

David Bulova has represented the 37th District of the Virginia House of Delegates since 2006.  The 37th District includes the City of Fairfax and portions of western Fairfax County.  In the House, he serves on the General Laws; Agriculture; Chesapeake and Natural Resources; and Education Committees, as well as the State Water Commission, Housing Commission, Joint Commission on Health Care and the Virginia War Memorial Board.  He also serves as the Governor’s appointee to the Legislative Advisory Council to the Southern Region Education Board and the Legislative Advisory Board to the Virginia Water Resources Research Center. Professionally, Delegate Bulova works as a Project Manager and Senior Environmental Planner for Wood, PLC.  His primary areas of expertise include MS4 Phase I and Phase II permit planning and implementation, NPDES stormwater industrial permit implementation, watershed planning, and stormwater funding feasibility studies and utility implementation.

Guy J. Guzzone, Senate of Maryland (D-13)

Senator Guy Guzzone was elected to the Maryland Senate in 2014, after serving in the Maryland House of Delegates from 2007 to 2015. He currently serves as Senate Majority Leader. He is also a member of the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee, Chair of its Health and Human Resources Subcommittee, and additionally a member of both its Capital Budget and Pensions Subcommittees. Other current committee assignments include Rules, Legislative Policy, Spending Affordability, and Administrative, Executive and Legislative Review. Prior his legislative service, he spent eight years on the Howard County Council, including serving as its Chair. Senator Guzzone is also the former State Director of the Sierra Club and has served as a trustee of the Chesapeake Bay Trust, and as a commissioner of the Maryland Growth, Resource Protection, and Planning Commission.

Ann Swanson, Executive Director

Ann Swanson has served as a leader in the Bay restoration for 36 years, the last 31 as the Executive Director of the Chesapeake Bay Commission, a tri-state legislative authority serving the states of Maryland, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. It is the Commission’s responsibility to sponsor legislation at the state level and to work with state legislators, members of the U.S. Congress, and the federal and state regulatory agencies to coordinate programs aimed at restoring the Chesapeake Bay.

Although Ann operates in a highly political environment, she is trained in the sciences. A trained wildlife biologist and forest ecologist, she graduated with honors from the University of Vermont and Yale University. She holds an honorary Doctor of Laws from the University of Vermont.

Ann has been recognized regionally, nationally and internationally for her work. She delivered a keynote address at the Stockholm Water Festival, chaired the University of Vermont’s Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources for 11 years, and has been recognized with awards by her colleagues in the Bay watershed, the governors of the region and the General Assemblies of Maryland, Pennsylvania and Virginia.

Thank you to our generous sponsors for their support of this event!

For more information about how you can sponsor this invite-only event in the future, please contact [email protected] or Melissa Ehrenreich at (443) 482-9083.