Chesapeake Conservancy Welcomes New Board Members

Former Director of the National Park Service & Charlottesville Area Community Foundation President Elected to Board

Annapolis, MD – Today, the Chesapeake Conservancy announced that Robert Stanton and Anne Scott have been elected to its board of directors. Additionally, three members of the Conservancy’s board recently completed their terms— Patrick F. Noonan, Stephen R. Adkins, and Lloyd L. “Scott” Beatty, Jr.

Bob Stanton

Bob Stanton has more than 40 years of experience with the U.S. Department of the Interior, serving most recently as a senior advisor to the secretary of the Interior, and as Director of the National Park Service from 1997-2001. In 2014, he was appointed by the President to a four-year term on the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation.

Stanton holds a Bachelor of Science degree from Huston-Tillotson University and did his graduate work at Boston University. He has received honorary doctorate degrees from Texas A&M University, Huston-Tillotson University, Unity College, Southern University and Agricultural and Mechanical College and North Carolina State University.

“I am truly humbled and pleased for the grand opportunity to serve as a member of the Board of Directors for the Chesapeake Conservancy. As a long-time resident of the Commonwealth of Virginia, I am familiar with the rich and diverse resources of the Chesapeake Bay. I hope that in some small way in drawing upon my 40 years of experience with the U. S. Department of the Interior, including 35 years with the National Park Service, I might be able to contribute to the noble mission and goals of the Conservancy,” Stanton said.

Anne Scott

Anne Scott is the president and CEO of the Charlottesville Area Community Foundation. Previously, she served as executive director of programs at the Children’s Investment Fund Foundation in London, where she was responsible for the performance management of the organization’s global portfolio of grants and other impact investments.

Scott holds a Ph.D. in medical anthropology from the University of Pennsylvania and an MBA in finance, accounting and audit from the University of Kent in the UK. She completed post-doctoral fellowships in science and diplomacy with the American Association for the Advancement of Science and in health and child survival at Johns Hopkins University School of Public Health.

“Going way back my family is from the Eastern Shore of Maryland. The very best parts of my childhood were spent freely exploring its fields and rivers, and being nurtured by the character of its individuals and communities. Having travelled to the ends of the earth, and coming home again to the Chesapeake Bay watershed, I discovered that the Chesapeake Conservancy is at the forefront of today’s effort to conserve and restore the Bay’s precious resources and, uniquely, it embraces us all in that effort. I want to work together with others to secure the Bay’s future,” Scott said.

“The Board is pleased to welcome these two new members. Both Bob and Anne bring tremendous experience as well as deeply rooted connections to the Chesapeake Bay watershed that will strengthen the Chesapeake Conservancy in the pursuit our mission. As the principal partner with the National Park Service on the Captain John Smith Chesapeake National Historic Trail, the Conservancy will benefit from the guidance of a former Director,” Chesapeake Conservancy Chairman of the Board Douglas Wheeler said. “We will greatly miss two of our founding members Pat Noonan and Chief Adkins, as well as our former treasurer Scott Beatty.”

“Each of these Board members have played a critical role in the development of our organization and our many conservation accomplishments that will benefit future generations.  In particular, Patrick Noonan has been the quintessential figure in the founding and growth of the Chesapeake Conservancy.  The John Smith Chesapeake Trail was his vision, which is our framework and has to brought new federal, state and private funding for conservation, public access and restoration,” Chesapeake Conservancy President and CEO Joel Dunn said.

“These partnerships have helped to create or enhance 108 new public access sites, permanently protect some of the most iconic places in the Chesapeake Bay, including Werowocomoco, Blackwater National Wildlife Refuge, Harriet Tubman Underground Railroad National Historical Park, and Fort Monroe National Monument. We are forever grateful to Pat for his leadership and commitment to conservation and to the Chesapeake,” Dunn continued.

“As principal partner with the National Park Service on the John Smith Chesapeake Trail, Bob will help us significantly enhance this partnership.  In addition, given that we are working with communities across the watershed on environmental conservation, Anne will enhance our ability to connect with our community partners and make them vibrant and strong,” Dunn said.


The Chesapeake Conservancy’s mission is to strengthen the connection between people and the watershed; conserve the landscapes and special places that sustain the Chesapeake’s unique natural and cultural resources; and restore landscapes, rivers, and habitats in the Chesapeake Bay region. We empower the conservation community with access to the latest data and technology. As principal partner for the National Park Service on the John Smith Chesapeake Trail, we helped create 108 new public access sites and permanently protect some of the Bay’s special places like Werowocomoco, Blackwater National Wildlife Refuge, Harriet Tubman Underground Railroad National Historical Park, and Fort Monroe National Monument.