Chesapeake Conservancy to Host Fifth Annual “Champions of the Chesapeake” Awards in Washington, DC

Featuring Keynote Speaker Jeff Corwin: Emmy-Winning Television Host, Author and Biologist

Annapolis, MD – Chesapeake Conservancy will host its fifth annual “Champions of the Chesapeake” awards ceremony on Thursday, November 1, 2018, from 6:00 to 8:00 at Carnegie Institution for Science in Washington, D.C.

The evening will celebrate the dedication and leadership of organizations, government, and companies, for protecting the Chesapeake experience and restoring the health of the Bay.

WHO:  Chesapeake Conservancy

Jeff Corwin, keynote speaker, international conservationist and host of “Expedition Chesapeake,” a giant-screen film that journeys into the mysterious and beautiful watershed and explores the connections between the millions of people, plants and animals that call it home.


The Department of Defense’s Readiness and Environmental Protection Integration (REPI) program, accepted by Kristin Thomasgard-Spence, Program Director

For its creative approach to conserve habitat and biodiversity across a 385,000-mile corridor in the Chesapeake

The Conservation Fund, accepted by Larry Selzer, President & CEO

For its signature commitment to conserve naturally and culturally important land across the Chesapeake and along the John Smith Chesapeake Trail, such as Werowocomoco and Fones Cliffs in Virginia

Ecosystem Investment Partners, accepted by Nick Dilks, Managing Partner

For their leadership to create new models of working capacity to finance results-focused restoration and conservation here in the Chesapeake

WHAT: Fifth Annual “Champions of the Chesapeake” Awards

WHEN: Thursday, November 1, 2018, 6:00 – 8:00 p.m.

WHERE: Carnegie Institution for Science, 1530 P St NW, Washington, DC 20005

WHY: To celebrate the individuals, corporations, nonprofits and public servants who have made a remarkable difference for progress in Chesapeake conservation.

Previous award winners include U.S. Senator Barbara S. Mikulski of Maryland (retired); U.S. Senator Paul S. Sarbanes of Maryland (retired); U.S. Senator John W. Warner of Virginia (retired); Maryland Governor Larry Hogan; former Virginia Governor Terry McAuliffe; former National Park Service Director Jonathan B. Jarvis (ret); Keith Campbell, The Keith Campbell Foundation; Esri; Mount Vernon Ladies’ Association; Microsoft Corporation; Mt. Cuba Center; Dr. Mamie Parker, (retired) US Fish & Wildlife Service; REI; Kim Hernandez, NOAA Fellow; and Skyline Technology Solutions, Inc.


Chesapeake Conservancy’s mission is to conserve and restore the natural and cultural resources of the Chesapeake Bay watershed for the enjoyment, education, and inspiration of this and future generations. We empower the conservation community with access to the latest data and technology. As principal partner for the National Park Service on the Chesapeake Bay Gateways Network and the Captain John Smith Chesapeake National Historic Trail, we helped create 153 new public access sites and permanently protect some of the Bay’s special places like Werowocomoco, Blackwater National Wildlife Refuge, Harriet Tubman Underground Railroad National Historical Park, and Fort Monroe National Monument.